This mixtape is the brainchild of Rashad “Mayor” Wilson (Alison Carney, Kyonte). During the week of the now averted government shutdown, he posted some tracks on his Facebook page that fit the mood of how workers felt. People told him to put out the mixtape for real, and I was happy to step in to assist. Tracklisting and download link after the break…


1. The Recession – Young Jeezy
2. Hustle Hard Remix – Ace Hood ft Rick Ross, Lil Wayne
3. H.A.M. Remix – Kanye West & Jay-Z ft Busta Rhymes
4. What’s Going On – Kyonte’
5. Revelations 2010 – Raheem DeVaughn & Damian Marley
6. Liberation – Outkast ft Erykah Badu, Cee-Lo, Big Rube
7. It Was A Good Day – Ice Cube
8. Bring Me Down – Kanye West ft Brandy
9. The World Is Yours – Nas
10. Dead Presidents II – Jay-Z
11. Solider – Erykah Badu
12. Don’t Feel Right – The Roots ft Maimouna Youssef
13. Everyday Struggle – The Notorious B.I.G.
14. Through My Rearview – 2Pac
15. Moment 4 Life – Nicki Minaj

Download: The Furlough